MsChicksinger

>a Sunday rehearsal-what?!

In bows, cabaret, dangerous curves, Michael Miyazaki, rehearsal on November 30, 2008 at 12:32 am

>Artist Marta Wiley “ballerina bows”
Although all three of us are true believers in the Universe and all it has to offer us, still I am amazed when something completely pertinent to one of our discussions shows up unexpectedly.  For example, I am an avid follower of a blog on word press called Miyazaki Cabaret Update: DC & Beyond. One of his recent posts happens to be on self-promotion, which I enjoyed.  However, it lead me to an older post on accepting applause and bows and wow, did it really hit home.  In one of our most recent shows, my husband commented on how we spoke over the applause and didn’t wait to accept it.  I told him it didn’t feel that way at all!  As a performer, every moment on stage can seem like an hour, especially when you are accepting applause.  Yikes!  Its tough to simply stand there with NOTHING to do and can feel very narcissistic.  His point was that, not only did the audience not hear what we were saying, (and believe me, we worked hard on those talk spots!) they were left feeling frustrated because they were not allowed to perform THEIR job…to tell us they enjoyed the performance!  Even after this valid point was heard by all, we really didn’t believe it until we viewed a piece of ourselves on video. OH. THAT.  MMMMM.    Which leads us to the title of this post.  Tomorrow, we are rehearsing for a gig in December at the Orleans.  But first, we are going to view the show together in its entirety. We are not going to judge ourselves on our singing or talking or appearance.  We are going to watch and learn and grow.  Thus, a Sunday rehearsal.

P.S. Lisa has a fantastic blog on word press-here’s the link! Lisa’s blog
Be sure to check us out at dangerouscurveslasvegas.com!
  1. >Karen:Thanks so much for the very nice reference to my blog and thanks for inspiring my current post!Also, please make sure I know when the CD is being released so I can do a write-up on the blog.Thanks for all the support!!!

Leave a comment